Obamacare: Not so bad for small business after all

Makini Howell is the owner of a small restaurant in Seattle.  Her piece in the Washington Post sheds light on some of the lesser-known parts of Obamacare, namely the ones that make it easier and cheaper for small businesses to insure their employees:

I knew that if we wanted to grow, we needed to attract a great team of cooks and servers who were talented, committed, and motivated to help build the business. Offering health insurance was big on my list, but it seemed completely out of reach on a small business budget.

Then, President Obama’s health care reform law came along. When I crunched the numbers, I found out that the law’s health care tax credit for small businesses would immediately cut 20 percent off the cost of insuring my employees. And in 2014, when the law’s fully in effect, that tax credit goes up to about one-third of my costs.

Suddenly, providing health insurance wasn’t just something I dreamed of doing – it was something I actually could do. About three months ago, right around the two-year anniversary of the law, I began enrolling my employees in a health insurance plan for the first time. Let me tell you – that felt good!

It does feel good!  It’s almost as if lawmakers anticipated a health care overhaul could be harmful to small businesses and actually put things into place — like the tax credits Howell mentions, for example — that would ease that burden and make it possible for businesses to meet the requirements to insure their employees.  I know I’m going out on a limb here, but maybe Democrats have in interest in protecting small business, too.

Probably not, though.  It’s a lot more fun to believe that President Obama hates capitalism and the free-enterprise system and gets off on sticking it to entrepreneurs, no matter how much evidence there is to the contrary.

About Hammertime
Georgetown sophomore, Job Creator.

Leave a Reply

